P1010853 Catching a  Ride P1010852 Choo choo x-mas card P1010817
previous� next older� contact d-land
notes g-book taco bellisms


Archives

January - October 2007

PPP Direct



July 13, 2005 - 12:15 p.m.

A Tree Grows in the Bedroom

My night in review . . .

At 1:30 this morning, Pudge started whining to go out and since Larry is in Mobile trying to get work out of Hurricane Dennis, it was me Pudge came too. As I am not as nice as Larry is, I promptly told Pudge no and shoved him in the bathroom. I figured if he really did have to go, at least it would be on the tile.

At 1:45, Peyton came running into my room whining about something or other. As I hadn�t gotten much sleep the night before (walking him back to his bed 4 times), I let him climb into bed with me. If there�s one thing to be said about me, it is that I am consistently inconsistent.

Peyton then starts blabbering on about a tree in the room that scaring him.

�It�s scary, the tree in the room.�

�Peyton, there is no tree. We�re inside.�

�It�s scary. I�m going back to my bed.�

And down he scampered and off he ran. I waited a couple of minutes before going and checking to make sure he was in bed and not sneaking out of the house to meet some chick. He was sitting up in bed, �I�m wet.�

Nice.

I get him out of bed, change his clothes and bring him back to my bed. No, I didn�t change the sheets. I�m not that good at 2:15 in the morning.

Peyton continues to insist there is a tree in the room and he proceeds to bury himself under the covers near my feet. I had to coax him back to the top for fear he would suffocate, and then hold my hand over his ear so he felt better.

It�s now 2:20 and Shey starts up. I�m not sure what is up with him, but my perfect sleeper is now, not so much. It could be a growth spurt, his teeth, a cold, or possibly, but hopefully not, another ear infection. I bring him to bed with us, but he won�t go to sleep and starts wailing. I tell Peyton I�m going to fix Shey a bottle, and Peyton hops off the bed to come with me. (The tree and all) It�s 2:30 in the morning and Peyton and I are making small talk while the microwave goes round and round.

We get back in bed, I feed Shey and Peyton finally dozes off. Shey finishes eating and I reach over Peyton to out the bottle on the nightstand.

2:55 a fucking m

Peyton woke up around 7:30 this morning. He looks around the bedroom and says with wonder,

�There�s no tree.�

No Peyton, there�s no tree.