P1010853 Catching a  Ride P1010852 Choo choo x-mas card P1010817
previous� next older� contact d-land
notes g-book taco bellisms


Archives

January - October 2007

PPP Direct



January 08, 2003 - 9:56 a.m.

Pizza Hut. The Bane of Our Existence?

Larry's parents have friends in town and last night they wanted Pizza Hut. Pizza Hut. Ugh. We were starving though so we went along for the ride and free meal. I haven't been to Pizza Hut since high school and that was *ahem* almost eight years ago. Actually, it has been longer than that cause we went in 10th grade when we couldn't afford anything else. After football games, oh the memories! We trashed the place. Hee! Food would be everywhere, straw wrappers blown at each other, ice strown all over the place and our small private school football team actually won some games then. . .

But I digress.

In 10th grade, I could stomach Pizza Hut. At 25, almost 26, I can't. Apparently neither can my husband. Poor Larry was up from 4:00 to 4:30 this morning with stomach pains, unable to leave the toilet. Poor guy. Too bad I slept through it. But not really, he sleeps through Peyton screaming, but more on that later.

Back to Pizza Hut. It was a buffet. A pizza buffet. Yuck. Pizza should not be served in a buffet style manner. It should be brought out steaming, cheese gooey, pepperonis (that looks really funny) crisp and crust soft and firm simultaneously. You know, better ingrediants, better pizza and garlic butter sauce. Yummmm!

Not sitting under heat lamps which cast a reddish hue on pizza slices that are only two inches wide trying to make them more appetizing. It's not. Give it up. Ew!

***************************************

On another note. . . Peyton woke up at 1:00 screaming. I layed in bed for a while and then rolled over to look at Larry.

Me: What are we doing?

Larry: Go get him!

So, so much for trying to get him to spend the whole night alone. I went in there and the little booger was sitting up already about to pull up on the rails. Wouldn't that be something? The first time he pulls up would be screaming at one in the morning. To bed he came with me, fell promptly asleep and was fine the rest of the night.

I thought about it for a while and this is my conclusion. We will still put him to bed at night. He does need that. But maybe, since we are apart most the day, he needs some extra snuggle time at night. I can live with that. And maybe, just maybe, if he knows I will come get him, he will be content not to call?

A mother can dream, can't she?