P1010853 Catching a  Ride P1010852 Choo choo x-mas card P1010817
previous� next older� contact d-land
notes g-book taco bellisms


Archives

January - October 2007

PPP Direct



July 09, 2004 - 10:14 a.m.

False Alarm

Last night I made my first call to the ob for a �problem.� I�m generally pretty even-kill and it takes quite a lot to freak me out. Hell, when I was in labor with Peyton, it was progressing so smoothly that I couldn�t decide when to go to the hospital. When we finally made the trip, the nurse was sure she would be sending me home, but lo and behold, I was at 7 centimeters.

So, last night when I got home for work, I made my usually run to the restroom, because Lord knows, that 10-minute drive lasts f o r e v e r sometimes. When I wiped (sorry for the visual), I noticed a spot of blood. It was pretty red too. I calmly let the dogs out, got Peyton a drink, I made myself comfortable on the couch. I called my best friend, who�s pregnant too, she grabbed her book and we hashed out the possibilities. It pretty much boiled down too, if it�s not a lot of blood, there�s probably no cause for concern. So, we chatted a bit longer and then I hunkered down for a night of doing nothing.

Not surprisingly, I went to the bathroom like every 30 minutes just to �check� on things you know and all was well in hoo-hoo land.

Larry arrived home about 7:30 after picking us up some dinner, and I went to the bathroom again. This time there was a small strip of blood when I wiped. That�s pretty much when I started to freak out.

I wasn�t so much worried about the baby, but more so problems with my cervix, or placenta previa, where the placenta starts separating itself from the uterus. I went and laid down and called my mom. �Call the doctor, then call me back.�

Freak out mode full alert.

I called the service, who quickly told me they�d get a hold of my doctor then I sat on the bed, tears streaming down my face, willing the baby to move.

This baby is going to be as stubborn as Peyton.

30 freakin� minutes later, my ob calls. By then I had resumed some sense of calm and was able to talk to him without my voice hitching.

�Are you having any pain or cramping?�

�No.�

�Is it a lot of blood?�

�No.�

�Then don�t worry about it. Monitor it like you have been, and if you see it in the morning, give me a call, but otherwise, don�t worry about it.�

He assured me I did the right thing by calling, but that everything sounded fine.

Luckily, all has been well in hoo-hoo land this morning and I�m not subjected to bed rest for the next 5 months.

Unfortunately, we may have to forgo the morning romp for a few days. Damn, just when sex seemed fun again.