P1010853 Catching a  Ride P1010852 Choo choo x-mas card P1010817
previous� next older� contact d-land
notes g-book taco bellisms


Archives

January - October 2007

PPP Direct



November 04, 2004 - 10:06 a.m.

Laying it on the Line

I�m not an idiot for believing in God and with that belief upholding the moral standards taught to me from early childhood. I�m not an idiot for believing right is right and wrong is wrong or for not agreeing with people who practice different lifestyles. That�s what makes us unique.

I�m not an idiot for thinking that prayer will always cause more good than harm. It never hurt anyone to have someone pray for them and if we can bring a whole stadium together for 30 seconds to bless the safety of the men, women, boys or girls playing on the field, then we will be a better people for it.

I�m not an idiot for believing that at the moment of conception the cells growing inside a woman�s body is a baby and taking that baby�s life is murder. I felt Shey move at 13 weeks. I saw him move on ultrasound at 10 weeks. Peyton�s tiny little heartbeat was visible by ultrasound at 7 weeks. This is before most women even know they are pregnant. I�m intelligent enough to know there are always extenuating circumstances that may affect this belief, but the prevalent lack of responsibility for one�s actions that is sweeping our nation disturbs me. Abortion should not be a quick fix for one night�s mistake.

I�m not an idiot for believing one man is better for a job than another man is. This is my opinion and my freedom as an American. The overwhelming negativity that permeated entries and comment sections yesterday disheartened me and gnawed at my mind. Most of the diaries I read reflect varying lifestyles and opinions. I love reading these as it keeps me open to new ideas and options. The majority of the time I agree to disagree, but sometimes I think, �You know, they�re right.�

Reading over and over again how ashamed people were of the 52% of the American population that voted for Bush made me want to lock myself up in a little box and not allow anyone else�s thoughts to penetrate my belief system. I know this isn�t sensible and I won�t do it, but yesterday�s entries were discouraging. Apparently, it�s okay to have different opinions as long as our opinions match. Having different ideas, beliefs and reasons compiles the greatness that makes us human and especially human in the United States of America. The freedom to share a way of thinking and not be condemned for it is the reason we live in this country.

I�m not an idiot and stop telling me to be ashamed of my decisions.