P1010853 Catching a  Ride P1010852 Choo choo x-mas card P1010817
previous� next older� contact d-land
notes g-book taco bellisms


Archives

January - October 2007

PPP Direct



September 14, 2005 - 9:54 p.m.

Day Three - Dear God, Make it Stop

Saturday, Larry and I awoke before the crack of dawn and headed up to the dining hall in hopes of finding something to eat. Unfortunately, we had beaten even the cooks and breakfast wouldn�t be served for a while. The Vancouver coastline was breathtaking as the sun rose of the mountains, and we called K and J to see if they were up yet. Apparently downing 6 martini shots in roughly 45 minutes did not bode well for J and they opted to sleep for a couple more hours.

Later that morning, we met up with our friends and bundled up on the pool deck. The cruise personnel stocked flannel blankets alongside of the towels, so we grabbed a few and snuggled up with some hot chocolate. Wearing coats, covering with blankets and lying on a lounge chair on a cruise ship deck was a surreal experience. The view was magnificent and the company entertaining. We hung out for a couple hours and then headed back to the cabins for a nap.

K and I had hot stone massages scheduled for 4:30 and we agreed to meet up then. The ship started rocking around 3:30, and I mean that literally, not figuratively. I swear having my body rubbed down with hot lava stones and oil was a slice of heaven on earth, however, the rocking and rolling of the boat was not. I felt ok as long as I was being rubbed down, but unfortunately, the good feeling didn�t last when the massage was over. We headed towards the thelasso therapy pool, but watching the pool water rise and fall with the boat just made it worse.

Our first formal dinner was that night, but none of us made it, along with half (if not more) of the ship. Larry and I immediately took Dramamine upon returning to the room. I asked him if we were going to make it to the dinner and he said, �If I�m awake.� Two minutes later he was snoring, I ordered us room service and as long as I stayed prone on the bed, my stomach was ok. Ugh. Even the walk to open the door for our very bland food caused my stomach to turn.

Needless to say, it was an early night, and we prayed for our first Alaskan port to come quickly.

Vancouver at Sunrise

Freezing our Asses Off